Commonwealth Masters Scholarships | International Studies

Commonwealth Masters Scholarships is currently open for all international students who wish to study in London on scholarship.

Commonwealth Scholarships are given to talented individuals with the potential to make a positive impact on the global stage.

As part of the UK’s ongoing commitment to the Commonwealth, each year around 800 students are given the chance to undertake postgraduate degrees with UK universities.

If you are from a Commonwealth country and believe you could make a difference in the world but you can’t afford to fund your UK studies on your own, then you could be the ideal candidate for a Commonwealth Scholarship.

Commonwealth Scholarships for Master’s and Ph.D. study in the UK are offered to citizens of developing Commonwealth countries.

These scholarships are funded by the UK Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO), with the aim of contributing to the UK’s international development aims.

Moreover, And wider overseas interests, supporting excellence in UK higher education, and sustaining the principles of the Commonwealth.

What are Commonwealth Masters Scholarships

The Commonwealth Scholarships scheme is aimed at students from across the Commonwealth who would not otherwise be able to afford to study in the UK.

By funding postgraduate studies in a range of different study formats, the scheme helps to support future innovators and leaders.

Meanwhile, This historic award is the UK’s primary scholarship scheme focused on supporting British international development goals.

It is designed to attract outstanding talent to UK universities whilst also supporting sustainable development overseas.

Who can apply for Commonwealth Masters Scholarships

To apply for a Commonwealth Scholarship, you must be a citizen or permanent resident of a Commonwealth country.

You will still be eligible if you are a refugee or a British-protected person. You also need to have an undergraduate honors degree of at least upper second class (2:1).

If you wish to study for a Ph.D., you will need an appropriate master’s degree too. Finally, you must be unable to afford to study in the UK without a scholarship.

The eligibility criteria for each type of scholarship and fellowship vary. More information is available on the CSC website.

Geographical Criteria for Commonwealth Masters Scholarships

Applicants must be a citizen of a developing Commonwealth country:

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Botswana
  • The British Virgin Islands
  • Cameroon
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guineas
  • Pitcairn
  • Rwanda
  • St Helena
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tristan da Cunha
  • Turks and Caicos
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Western Samoa
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

CSC Development Themes for Commonwealth Masters Scholarships

All Commonwealth Scholarships which are funded by the Foreign, Commonwealth, and Development Office (FCDO) are offered under six CSC development themes.

  • Firstly, Science and technology for development.
  • Secondly, Strengthening health systems and capacity
  • Thirdly, Promoting global prosperity
  • Strengthening global peace, security, and governance
  • Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  • Access, inclusion, and opportunity

There is no restriction on what you can study but the Commonwealth Scholarships Commission gives priority to applicants whose studies are most relevant to their development criteria.

What financial support is available?

Most scholarships are fully funded which means that, as well as covering your tuition fees.

You will also receive your airfare to and from the UK and a living allowance to support you while you are here.

How to apply for Commonwealth Masters Scholarships

Depending on which scholarship you are applying for, you may need to apply through a National Nominating Agency, a university, or a Non-Governmental Organisation.

To find out how to apply for each of the scholarships, please visit the CSC application page.

What do I need to apply for Commonwealth Masters Scholarships?

To begin your online application, you’ll need a scanned copy of your passport, your academic transcript, your existing university degree certificate, two references and, if you have one, your admission letter.

What is the deadline for applications?

Annual deadlines for applications are usually in December.

Check the page of the scholarship you are interested in at the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission website to see the dates when they are announced for 2023-24.

More about Commonwealth Masters Scholarships

  • Firstly, 12 months of support towards completion of a full-time taught postgraduate qualification at an eligible UK institution.
  • Secondly, Up to 36 months of support towards completion of a full-time doctoral postgraduate qualification at an eligible UK institution.

Please note that the Commission offers do not cover MBA programs.

Universities make every effort to ensure that the information published or contained on its website is accurate.

However, the University cannot guarantee the information may not subsequently be altered owing to circumstances beyond the University’s reasonable control.

Such circumstances include (but are not limited to) changes in Government policy or changes in the law.

Whilst any changes will be incorporated into the University’s website any person wishing to clarify the details of a particular scholarship/s should contact the University

Commonwealth Scholarships Alumni Associations

To date, over 27,800 people have taken up Commonwealth Scholarships since the first group of 175 Scholars arrived in the UK in 1960.

Our alumni include Prime Ministers and cabinet ministers, Nobel Prize winners, academics, diplomats, writers, and leaders in major NGOs and businesses.

You are a Commonwealth Scholar for life and we hope that you will stay involved as an active alumnus. Through our alumni network, you will have the opportunity to build contacts with a diverse range of scholars in your home country.

And also across the Commonwealth which will support your work and development goals.

Membership to the CSC Alumni Network is free and comes with numerous benefits including regular issues of the CSC newsletter, and access to online professional networks.

And opportunities to attend alumni networking events in your home country.

Each alumni association is different, from the types of events they organize to their membership requirements. View a list of current alumni associations and contact information.

Please note that Applications for 2023-24 entry are now closed. The information below relates to previous years.

However, The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission offers master’s scholarships to students from low and middle-income Commonwealth countries to study for a full-time master’s degree at a UK university.

Leave a Reply